New to Apple

Posted:
in General Discussion edited January 2014
I am extremely new to apple. So new that I have never..ever..touched one. I am a unix admin and I love any OS none M$. OS X has been showing up a lot lately and I have taken some interest to it. Anyway, I was thinking of buying a new ibook. All I want it for is burning cd's, surfing, doing some movie editing and just having fun (been a while since I had fun on a computer). My ? is should I wait to see if anything new comes out after this MW?? thingy or should I just go ahead and buy the 600 G3 or shell out the extra money for the Tibook? Is it worth it for what I want? I know the graphics card isn't that good on the ibook, but I am not wanting to play quake III on it (i do that on my PC), maybe just some Starcraft.

Comments

• Reply 1 of 10
    Go for an iBook, you will love it. You could buy a low end iMac for a little less than an iBook...but I digress.
  • Reply 2 of 10
    tristantristan Posts: 79member
    should I get the 12" inch. i keep reading where the resolution is better on it than the 14"
  • Reply 3 of 10
    [quote]Originally posted by tristan:

<strong>should I get the 12" inch. i keep reading where the resolution is better on it than the 14"</strong><hr></blockquote>

The 12'' definately. I saw the 14'' in person and its a bulky beast and about everybody else here would agree with that. If you are bent on portability then get the iBook combo 12''.
  • Reply 4 of 10
    The price difference between the 12'' and the 14'' is such that the 12'' looks even better.

I love the small size of the 12'' iBook...that is its best feature.
  • Reply 5 of 10
    emaneman Posts: 7,204member
    [quote]Originally posted by tristan:

<strong>should I get the 12" inch. i keep reading where the resolution is better on it than the 14"</strong><hr></blockquote>

Definately go for the 12". The 14" is big and ugly and since the resolution's the same as the 12", the !2" is sharper.
  • Reply 6 of 10