new to apple, and lusting after the imac

Posted:
in General Discussion edited January 2014
hiyas my sum total of experience with apple up to this point is playing carmen sandiego on a macintosh about 8 years ago. however, the unbelieveable slinkiness of the new imac and unix based new os are attracting me towards one of these systems. however i have loads of questions and would appreciate answers and directions to web sites where i may find subsidary information. ok here goes!

1.what is the footprint of the new imac?

2.adsl/cable is yet to be available here in ireland to the general public ( a regrettable state of affairs) what is the position of support for these network cards on imacs?

3.how much linux ppc support is available for the new imac vis a vis its features such as that dvd r/w et al? anyone here running debian on a imac?

4.in terms of performance, am i opting for style over substance? is 256mb of ram really enough these days? bear in mind that i'm a worthless student who only really plans to use the machine for the internet, tinkering about, and maybe the very occassional game.

5.is the imac likely to fall significantly in price in the near future? the lack of direct competition suggests to me that it won't, but i'm completely unfamiliar with price trends in the apple market.

6.thoughts/experiences on networking with a gnu/linux / windows x86?

thanks

gareth

Comments

• Reply 1 of 2

10" diameter circle, not including cables out the back or keyboard/mouse

2.adsl/cable is yet to be available here in ireland to the general public ( a regrettable state of affairs) what is the position of support for these network cards on imacs?

I'm not sure I understand your question... Generally here in the US, a DSL/Cable modem is an external thing, which is hooked into the computer via either ethernet or USB... the iMac handles these just fine...