questions about PowerMac G4 Dual 867

Posted:
in General Discussion edited January 2014
My name's Ryan and I'm new to this forum. I'm making the switch to Mac from PC around April of 2003 and I'm currently researching different systems. I'm a composer and I will continue to write music on my PC (software isn't cross platform), but I want to put together a design studio on the Mac for 2D & 3D graphic illustration and design combined with digital photography, for print.

Up until now I've only worked on a PC except limited use at work on a PowerMac G4 933(beautiful machine). My home PC I'm about ready to smash on the street in front of my house, it is so aggravating. The PC I use at work is of higher caliber(1.5Ghz higher), but I still have to endure crashes, next to no plug-and-play ability, and frustrating errors (anyone really know what "You have performed an illegal operation" actually means?). All my Mac friends tell me to buy a Mac and the little bit of experience I'm gaining at work on OSX has been an eye opening experience so far.

I'm interested in the dual 867 with 133mhz system bus, 1Gb PC2100 DDR Ram, 60Gb ATA, Superdrive, and the NVIDIA GeForce 4 Ti/128Mb DDR graphics card, build to order, probably directly from the Canada Online Apple Store. For a display, I'm seriously considering either the Formac 1740OX or the Formac Gallery 2010.

I have a few questions concerning this system. I'll be running Adobe Photoshop 7, Illustrator 10, InDesign 2.0, Acrobat 5, Corel Bryce 5, iPhoto, iDVD2, and occasionally iMovie2, as well as various shareware apps and plugins. I expect to have multiple programs open at once, possibly up to 3 or 4.

Does Mac OSX split up and allocate enough of the programs to utilize the full processing power of both processors?

Really, How good is the NVIDIA GeForce MX Titanium Video card? I've been reading through the forums a lot and these too topics have been mentioned quite often.