Help for University Selection

Posted:
in General Discussion edited January 2014
After being rejected by Cornell, I'm down to 8 schools to choose from.

Since I'm an international student, it is very hard for me to make a decision. I have narrowed my choices down to 3 schools.

1. University of Virginia

2. Oberlin College

3. University of California Davis

Which is more prestigious/more recognised?

I'm going to study Biological Sciences for undergraduate studies.

Tuition isn't too much of a problem.

Also, how are the cities like? I heard that Charlottesville is beautiful but how about the people there? Do they tend to be more conservative/close minded?

If any of you went there or have any suggestions or know anything about the schools/places, I'd be very, very greatful.

I'm Chinese but I've lived in Italy for all my life. I am fluent in 4 languages so I consider myself quite international.

Also, where do I find more mac users?

Thanks in advance.

Comments

• Reply 1 of 31
    eugeneeugene Posts: 8,254member
    UVA is one of the over-all top public schools in the country, and it's pretty good for the engineering crowd, but I don't know about biology and pre-med curriculae. It's also in *cough* hicksville, so yeah, the people there won't be the cosmopolitan type at all.
  • Reply 2 of 31
    trumptmantrumptman Posts: 16,464member
    Well all I know about UC Davis is that it is in Northern Califonia and that it is a U.C. which means it can't stink too bad. You wouldn't get in state tuition the first year, but after that you could claim state residency which would drop your tuition quite a bit.