New ios mismanagement of cache on iPhone 6s

Posted:
in iPhone
I have been using my iPhone 6s for many years now. I have recently changed my battery again so as you imagine I have it for some time now.

In the least year or two I have noticed that since I was updating iOS regularly the cache on my phone fills out in a matter of days (and Im talking about this grey “unspecified” area)! It causes my phone to be virtually unusable because I have no working space. My phone is only 16Gb and even though I dont require many apps, those few still become unusable after about 3 weeks and I have to factory reset and restore my phone from backup. This so far has been the only way to deal with this problem.

The weird thing is, I have never had this problem before, it has started only in the last year. I dont want to sound paranoid but it almost like Apple is doing this on purpose so I get the new phone, which I do not intend to do. This one still serves me well except for this issue.

Anyone here is having similar observations?

I will try to revert to factory reset without updating the iOS and see how this will help, but for now maybe someone has other thoughts you can share?

Comments

• Reply 1 of 2
    MarvinMarvin Posts: 15,326moderator
    szatanica said:
    I have been using my iPhone 6s for many years now. I have recently changed my battery again so as you imagine I have it for some time now.

In the least year or two I have noticed that since I was updating iOS regularly the cache on my phone fills out in a matter of days (and Im talking about this grey “unspecified” area)! It causes my phone to be virtually unusable because I have no working space. My phone is only 16Gb and even though I dont require many apps, those few still become unusable after about 3 weeks and I have to factory reset and restore my phone from backup. This so far has been the only way to deal with this problem.