The 64Bit Hint

Posted:
in Future Apple Hardware edited January 2014
Wouldn't Apple want developers to make sure there Apps run well at 64 bits? releasing whatever tools/compilers and pre OS X builds necessary to test?

My point is...if there is a Hammer or Power 4 varient in the near future...developer tools and OS X builds should forshadow the release of the upcoming hardware.

Now I am an not a developer so perhaps a develper can chime in on how far in advance they would need to have knowledge of a 64bit OS/Hardware release inorder to prepare their apps for release

Comments

• Reply 1 of 11
    If 64 bit support is built into the operating system, this should't be widely necessary. Look at it like the dual processor machines. ALL programs benefit from it in OSX because it is incorperated into the OS... but in OS9 (which didn't fully support dual processors) only a few programs like photoshop actually used the DP feature fully.

SO, as long as Apple does a god job of optimising OSX for 64-bit machines developers probably DON'T need release notes ahead of time.
  • Reply 2 of 11
    *l++*l++ Posts: 129member
    Well, not quite correct.

If the OS is 64 bits and the apps are 32 bits (each app can use a maximum of 4GB), then the developpers have nothing to do. But in a true 64 bit address space, a sizeof(void *) is 8 instead of 4 in a 32 bit address space. I don't see any flag to that effect in the current tools.
  • Reply 3 of 11
    It's already in GCC due to IBM's Linux support on POWER4. Here's a couple of interesting items on the GNU GCC page:

* The PowerPC back end has added 64-bit PowerPC GNU/Linux support.

* Aldy Hernandez, of Red Hat, Inc has contributed extensions to the PowerPC port supporting the AltiVec programming model (SIMD). The support, though presently useful, is experimental and is expected to stabilize for 3.2. The support is written to conform to Motorola's AltiVec specs. See -maltivec.
  • Reply 4 of 11
    *l++*l++ Posts: 129member