Powerbooks Questions

Posted:
in Current Mac Hardware edited January 2014
Is it posible to take the keys off a QWERTY PB 12" and rearrange them in dvorak?

If I want to use an external monitor it must be VGA, right? Which is a good VGA monitor? What's the maximum resolution the 12" PB can handle? Can you mirror with the lid closed?

Do you think the 12" PB will be updated before August this year? Is a 867 MHz fast enough for typical college usage (I am studying Physics) for about 2 years?

Should I order the PB with the RAM maxed out from Apple or would it be better to add it later? Is AppleCare a good investment? Is an extra battery a good purchase?

How good are the Benthaven (sp?) backpacks Apple suggests for the powerbooks? Will I be able to carry anything else besides the laptop?

Thank you.

Comments

• Reply 1 of 4
    mcqmcq Posts: 1,543member
    Um, I'm not sure that you can pop the keys off the PB, but under international or keyboard or some setting in system prefs you can choose to have the keyboard respond as if it's in a Dvorak layout, so rearranging the keys physically isn't necessary.

You can use it with a VGA monitor, the PB itself is 1024x768, max res on external monitor is 1600x1200. I think it can do mirroring with the lid closed I believe (12" PB owners can verify this or not).

12" may be upgraded before August, as it'd be right around the 6-8 month usual interval for Apple updates, but I wouldn't count on it 100%. A 12" PB prob could last 2 years of college without too much trouble.

Max the ram immediately, but buy it from an outside source afterwards, not from Apple. Apple charges crazy amts for memory upgrades. Applecare is definitely a good idea if you keep the PB longer than a year. Extra battery? I suppose if you need greater than 3 hrs battery at a time, but I don't really see a need for it.

No clue on the cases.
  • Reply 2 of 4
    lucaluca Posts: 3,833member
    Quote: