Computer to computer network using Airport cards

Posted:
in Genius Bar edited January 2014
I've got a 14-inch Ibook and a 450-Cube, both equipped with airport cards, and both running OS X 10.2.5.

I've set up what I think is the correct local network and file sharing is on, but I can't seem to get to the point where I can retrieve files from my Cube onto my IBook.

I'm sure it's something simple that I'm doing wrong, but I haven't been able to figure it out.

I'd like someone to provide me a step-by-step narrative, beginning with setting up the computer-to-computer network and file sharing all the way through what I have to do to see and use files from one computer on the other one.

I've been to Apple's help section, and it, frankly, hasn't been helpful.

Thanks.

Comments

• Reply 1 of 6
    jimdadjimdad Posts: 209member
    OK, i'm no expert at this but since you don't seem to be getting a reply - here goes.

1. Make sure airport cards are both on.

2. Make sure file sharing is turned on in system prefs.

3. On the cube, go up to the airport icon and create netword then click OK. (Don't bother with passwords etc. )

4. you're now finished with the cube.

5. On the iBook go up to airport icon and make sure that you can "see" the cube's network. It should automatically have a tick beside it as it should have spotted the network already. If not, select it.

6. Now go to the "Go" menu at the top of the screen and select "Connect to Server ".

7. A dialogue box should appear and the cube's name should appear ( it may take a minute ).

8. Click connect