Making the switch, now vs. later:

Posted:
in Future Apple Hardware edited January 2014
I'm going to "make the switch" next fall hopefully, after years of using PCs. I'm a graphic artist, so at this stage it's really the better option for me. However, I do have some concerns about the upcoming product roll-outs. I'd rather not drop $4500 on a PB17 (+ extras) and then have the 970 come out the next day. Obviously Apple is pretty tight-lipped about their future releases, but I've seen speculations as soon as the end of the month and as far as next feb/march. Once fall rolls around, I'll pretty much need to purchase some machine, but can everyone weigh in on how likely it is that I'll be able to get a PB17 with a 970 in it in or around August? I'm not really hip to the "Apple Scene" so I'd really like some opinons on what is really, actually likely to happen versus what everyone wants to happen (have it now, obviously)

<3,

Chris

Comments

• Reply 1 of 16
    keyboardf12keyboardf12 Posts: 1,379member
    Those who know won't say.

Those that say, don't know.

wait till WWDC. should be the best indicator.(along with the release of the 15" redux)
  • Reply 2 of 16
    hobbeshobbes Posts: 1,252member
    No one really knows, but the common wisdom is:

- PPC 970 in desktops this summer

- PPC 970 in laptops early next year (possibly even January in MWSF 04?)

All the threads about 970 laptops being announced alongside 970 desktops are -- IMO -- plain old wishful thinking.

So no, I don't believe money spent for 17" PowerBook will be badly spent at all... unless you need a desktop, or can hold out for another seven to nine months.
  • Reply 3 of 16
    It's going to be a desktop replacement, but I'm also a game development student, and I'm going to want to be able to run Doom 3 well in conjunction with all the other standard design/art apps, as well as some minor sound production.