15" TiBook vs. 17" AlBook?

Posted:
in General Discussion edited January 2014
Howdy-

I'm looking to replace my G4/733 tower with a Powerbook, and I'm wondering what the actual performance differences are between the current 15" Titanium Powerbook and the 17" Powerbook. I'm a print designer, and foremost in my mind is how fast Photoshop runs. According to the specs, the only differences (that seem to be relevant in this context- I plan to use a 2nd LCD in either case, and by the time Firewire 800 becomes a factor for me I'll be ready to upgrade) between the 1 GHz 15" and the 1GHz 17" are the RAM (DDR333 SDRAM vs. the older SDRAM) and the hard disk (Ultra ATA/100 vs. Ultra ATA/66). Do the DDR333 and the ATA/100 add up to enough of a speed boost to justify spending the extra $700?

I realize that the 15" revisions could be just around the corner, but "around the corner" speculations seem to run anywhere from next Tuesday to MWSF 04; the prices on the TiBooks look pretty darn good right now & I really can't wait too much longer...

(BTW, this is my first post & I wasn't sure if this post should be here in general discussions or in the current hardware section- since it is ultimately a buying advice issue, I thought I'd try it here first)

Comments

• Reply 1 of 15
    amorphamorph Posts: 7,112member
    Purchasing advice does belong in General Discussion, so good call. Welcome aboard.

I don't think there's a substantial difference between either laptop in terms of Photoshop performance. The faster RAM will allow I/O devices to communicate with RAM without starving the CPU, and it'll give Quartz Extreme a boost for the same reason, but for pixel-pushing the effect would be subtle, almost a "feel" issue.

If you're not interested in the 17"'s goodies (AirPort Extreme, Bluetooth, greatly improved wireless reception, backlit keyboard, larger screen) you might as well get the 15". It's a mature design and a good performer.
  • Reply 2 of 15