downloading pages using Safari

Posted:
in Genius Bar edited January 2014
newbie question alert: Well, I'm not really a newbie - but I am quite ignorant of HTML stuff and internet protocols. Anyway...

When I save a web page using Safari, it does not save any pictures or graphs and I find this frustrating. Am I doing something wrong - or am I expecting too much from a web browser?

I remember using the Scrapbook feature in IE and it preserved images correctly, yet Safari seems to ignore them when saving to a desktop. I do this so I can read articles at my leisure later on when not connected to the web.

Any help greatly appreciated.

I'd like to insert an example web page that I downloaded, but when I click on the image button it asks for text to be formatted? I don't get this - please dumb it down for me!

Comments

• Reply 1 of 16
    burningwheelburningwheel Posts: 1,827member
    i don't believe Safari can save a page as a web acrhive like IE, which saves the pictures. it would be nice if Safari did this
  • Reply 2 of 16
    mac+mac+ Posts: 580member
    Quote:

Originally posted by burningwheel

i don't believe Safari can save a page as a web acrhive like IE, which saves the pictures. it would be nice if Safari did this

Absolutely - I sort of thought that all web browsers would be capable of this ... although my only experience is with IE and Safari.

Anyway, is this something only I would like? Surely there must be more than one person who thinks this would be a good feature. Or do most people simply not download info from the web like I do?
  • Reply 3 of 16
    david101david101 Posts: 73member
    I saved a web page perfectly happily using safari the other day.

Just did the usual Ctrl-click (i.e the equivalent of pc right-click) and hit "save page as".

Pictures/photos and such were all intact.

I'm still only using a beta of safari, but can't be bothered to change it yet.
  • Reply 4 of 16
    Quote:

Originally posted by david101