Need to buy a mac..have 1.5 hours to decide what one to get!!

Posted:
in General Discussion edited January 2014
Hello!!

I just sold my Ti book, and need to ship it out tomorrow, so I need to go out and get something else to put all of my data on. I was holding out for a rev b 12", but since those seem a million miles away...I am just going to do it.

I am deciding between...

A 12" powerbook (combo and so on)- $1600

A 1 ghz eMac (I am a student) and thus can get it with 512mb for just under $1000

Or the 1.25ghz tower. I do have an old 17" crt, which would do for now- $1330 with extra RAM.

I need to leave here at 6.30 to pick one up at the Apple Store....HELP!!!!!!!

Thanks!

Comments

• Reply 1 of 14
    chinneychinney Posts: 1,019member
    Quote:

Originally posted by scotio

Hello!!

I am deciding between...

A 12" powerbook (combo and so on)- $1600

A 2ghz eMac (I am a student) and thus can get it with 512mb for just under $1000

Or the 1.25ghz tower. I do have an old 17" crt, which would do for now- $1330 with extra RAM.

2GHz eMac? Really?!? I want one.

But even at 1GHz, the eMac is a good deal. Go for it, unless you need expandability.
  • Reply 2 of 14
    torifiletorifile Posts: 4,024member
    Combo drive 12" pb's are $1399 with ed discount. Another $100 off if you've got an MBNA card. $1299 for a 12" pb. Not bad.
  • Reply 3 of 14
    scotioscotio Posts: 40member
    Yeah, sorry about that!

I think that you may be right...it is the cheapest of the options and I was thinking it might be kinda cool to be responsible for once.

\

I know this is silly, but it is just about as sexy as Christopher Walken in a french maid outfit!
  • Reply 4 of 14
    murbotmurbot Posts: 5,262member
    Quote:

Originally posted by torifile

Another $100 off if you've got an MBNA card.

Where is that mentioned? Haven't seen that one.
  • Reply 5 of 14
    Sorry...no credit for lil' old me! :-(

SO that is one vote for the eMac and one for the PB?