Cracking iTMS encryption

Posted:
in Mac Software edited January 2014
My guess is that crackers are giving the iTMS a grace period because they want to see it succeed. Ultimately, however, people are going to get annoyed with limitations on how they can use media they've purchased. I for one was awfully annoyed when they removed sharing as I had put my large music collection on a static connection at work so that I could access it from my home computer without eating up all my hard disk.

That said, I'm wondering if anyone has any idea on how it might be cracked? I'm no expert on cracking myself, but I would think one would need to compare different examples of iTMS songs and maybe against un-encrypted versions. I'm wondering about the following approaches ...

1. Get copies of the same songs purchased before and after iTMS started encrypting songs not to work with iTunes 4.0.0 and compare them bit by bit. Of course, since they encode user info you'd have to have the same person buy the same song again in the post 4.0.1 world.

2. Convert to AIFF then re-encode to AAC and compare against original.

I'm not suggesting that the encryption would just reveal itself by a simple comparison, but it's my understanding that this is the first step to deciphering the keys. Does anyone with better math than me know a better approach or what to do next?

Comments

• Reply 1 of 20
    willoughbywilloughby Posts: 1,457member
    What you are talking about is illegal. I hope the mighty Brad and/or LoCash get in here soon to lockinate this thing.
  • Reply 2 of 20
    Quote:

Originally posted by Willoughby

What you are talking about is illegal. I hope the mighty Brad and/or LoCash get in here soon to lockinate this thing.