Final Cut Pro 3.0 unwanted blur

Posted:
in Mac Software edited January 2014
I recently started playing with FCP 3. I imported a piece of animation and trimmed the head and the tail. When I exported the piece and compared it to the original quicktime file, It looked like a blur filter had been applied. It seems like I heard somewhere that FCP had this symptom but the level of damage it does to my pristine animation is UNBELIEVABLE! Is this just the state of things in FCP 3? Will FCP 4 be any better?

Comments

• Reply 1 of 6
    buckeyebuckeye Posts: 358member
    Quote:

Originally posted by Sybok

I recently started playing with FCP 3. I imported a piece of animation and trimmed the head and the tail. When I exported the piece and compared it to the original quicktime file, It looked like a blur filter had been applied. It seems like I heard somewhere that FCP had this symptom but the level of damage it does to my pristine animation is UNBELIEVABLE! Is this just the state of things in FCP 3? Will FCP 4 be any better?

I have been through this. I had the same issue on a primetime animated series when we made the mistake of using FCP (quickly remedied with an Avid). Any rendering (filters, speed changes, etc) caused a total blur.

Are you using a video card? Kona perhaps? Tell me more and I can probably help.

I am using FCP 4 right now and there are still some bugs, but there are work arounds.
  • Reply 2 of 6
    If you rendered to DV (which is FCP's default codec) and you view the video without "high quality" enabled it will look blurry just as you described. There's an option in the Final Cut Pro preferences to show DV video in high quality even on slower machines (on faster machines it defaults to showing DV in high quality). There's a similar preference in the Quicktime player movie properties.
  • Reply 3 of 6
    syboksybok Posts: 7member