Help with terminal !!

Posted:
in Genius Bar edited January 2014
hi all,

When im working on the pc servers at work my mac leaves loads of ._dsstore files along with loads of other crap starting with ._

i found a 'script' i could use with the terminal that will delete all these files.

It is:

cd /Volumes/PROJECTS

find . -name "._*" -exec rm '{}' \\; -print

and

cd /Volumes/INETPUB

find . -name "._*" -exec rm '{}' \\; -print

Im no expert with the terminal but it does work!

Now, is there a way i can have some kind of icon on my desktop that i can click to run this 'script'. It would save me having to type it in every morning! like i do now!

Cheers

Comments

• Reply 1 of 3
    Be very careful about deleting those "loads of other crap starting with ._"! You might start finding that your data is unusable or unreadable on your Mac after deleting some ._* files.

The ._ prefix is used to save the resource fork of a file on a non-HFS filesystem. Some older apps (notably Classic and a handful of old Carbon apps) still save data for files in the resource fork. In fact, all Classic apps and some Carbon apps themselves have resource forks that are absolutely necessary to run. Kill those files and you kill that data. It will be gone permanently.
  • Reply 2 of 3
    mark_lmark_l Posts: 39member
    thanks for that!! its mainly the dsstore file that i need to remove from the windows servers.
  • Reply 3 of 3
    thuh freakthuh freak Posts: 2,664member
    Quote:

Originally posted by MARK_L

thanks for that!! its mainly the dsstore file that i need to remove from the windows servers.

it would probably be good for you to change your removal script to just get rid of those then.