ISDN & BT problems from UK newbie

Posted:
in Genius Bar edited January 2014
I'm in the UK and currently using British Telecom's Home Highway (ISDN) via USB to access the 'net (no chance of broadband in the wilds!) and Virgin as an ISP.

Unfortunately, the connection goes down randomly, usually after 40 mins, and I am unable to disconnect - hit the disconnect button in Internet Connect and 'Disconnecting' appears for ever in the menu bar. Forced to restart to reconnect, which is a bit tedious.

So, accepting that I'm a newbie and possibly missing the obvious, has anyone any advice?

I guess UK members may be able to advise on the specifics of BT and Virgin, but anything to avoid rebooting each time would be good too (getting a bit reminiscent of M$ etc).

PS have unchecked 'disconnect if idle' and 'check every x mins' in PPP options, so it's not that obvious

Comments

• Reply 1 of 11
    lixlix Posts: 56member
    Are you using the USB port on the side of the HH box? Are you running Classic or OS X?
  • Reply 2 of 11
    Thanks lix, had almost given up hope on this one.

Running OS X (10.2.3) on a 12" PowerBook. Connecting via USB, cable direct from PB to BT box. Worse if it runs through a USB hub...

Had a look at the connection log the last time it failed - it thought that it had been a normal disconnect, only the message in the dock suggested otherwise. What app do I need to quit get rid of the'Disconnecting ' message and enable a redial?

My suspicion is that the problem is probably BT's driver, which, knowing them, will never be updated, plus a crappy connection/ISP. Never had the problem on the PC though, which leads me back to the driver for ISDN USB.

It really is becoming a pain in the ass - having to reboot every 40 or so mins is not my idea of Mac stability \ Bring on broadband for the sticks...
  • Reply 3 of 11
    paulpaul Posts: 5,278member
    run the command
    Code:

from the terminal

there should be a process called pppd or something like that