Should 12" PB = 15" PB?

Posted:
in Future Apple Hardware edited January 2014
Should 12" PB include same features than 15" PB has? I think, that yes. Sometimes people just need smaller light laptops, if they have to move a lot and they have a lot of presentations etc...

Comments

• Reply 1 of 22
    ...why not?
  • Reply 2 of 22
    lucaluca Posts: 3,833member
    Yes, I agree. If people want a low-cost, lightweight laptop and are willing to give up features, they can just get an iBook. The PowerBooks should all have pro features. The 12" PowerBook right now is basically just an iBook with a better keyboard and a G4.
  • Reply 3 of 22
    indeed
  • Reply 4 of 22
    AMEN to this thread!
  • Reply 5 of 22
    stoostoo Posts: 1,490member
    Remember that some features (eg L3 cache) do take up space, and it isn't just a matter of offering a different connector (eg. DVI instead of VGA). I'm no expert on laptops design, but there probably isn't much space free inside a 12" PowerBook.
  • Reply 6 of 22
    screedscreed Posts: 1,077member
    What Luca is getting at is why market it as a "Powerbook" then? Just call it the "Aluminum G4 iBook Special Edition" and be done with it.

I myself am looking to by a rev. B 12", hopefully the feature set will have synched.

Screed
  • Reply 7 of 22
    scottscott Posts: 7,431member
    What features are missing?
  • Reply 8 of 22
    idaveidave Posts: 1,283member
    Quote:

Originally posted by Scott

Mainly DVI output, L3 cache and higher RAM capacity.
  • Reply 9 of 22
    escherescher Posts: 1,811member
    Quote:

Originally posted by Scott

Missing features in the Rev.A 12-inch PowerBook:

* 1GB max RAM (at reasonable cost)

* L2 cache

* 1+Ghz processor

* DVI-out

* glow-in-the-dark keyboard

* I couldn't care less about FireWire 800

* thinner case

* even lighter weight

I can't wait to see what Jobs will announce a few short hours from now. Who knows whether I'll wake up from my sweat dreams to find they have come true?