powerbook resolution with external display???

Posted:
in Genius Bar edited January 2014
from a total newbie...

went to an Apple store today and asked about the use of a display with a pb. The very professional rep indicated that I must take into account the resolution of the powerbood with regard to the dispay performance. She said that a 12 inch pb cannot dispay with the same res as a 15 or 17 inch pb can. I question her statement. ... regardless of the pb size, once the image (or whatever) is downloaded, I think that the res would depend upon the res of thedisplay... not the indivicual computer.

please help and comment... as I am contemplating the ole pb v. desktop decision.... and want to know if a 12" will display with the same res as a 15 or 17" pb.

Tx bd611

Comments

• Reply 1 of 2
    stoostoo Posts: 1,490member
    I have no trouble running external monitors at 1600x1200 from my rev. A 12" PowerBook. With the rev. B's better graphics card, I wouldn't imagine any problems. Sounds like the sales rep. might have been refering to the PowerBooks' integrated displays?

Edit: welcome to Appleinsider!
  • Reply 2 of 2
    Here's a quote from a page on Apple's website:

Quote:

Put your work on display

Want to present your ideas on a bigger screen? Use the built-in DVI port on the 17-inch and 15-inch PowerBooks and the mini-DVI port on the 12-inch PowerBook to connect to the 23-inch Apple Cinema HD Display, the 20-inch Apple Cinema Display or the 17-inch Apple Studio Display. The Apple DVI to ADC Adapter offers more than just a physical connection between a DVI port and a digital ADC monitor. It?s been designed to maintain the digital integrity of the video signal to give you the ultimate pure digital experience.

also from another page on Apple's website.

Quote:

Versatile video-out capabilities