USB Speakers & Monsoon vs Klipsch

Posted:
in Current Mac Hardware edited January 2014
Hi Everyone,

This is my first post and I recently purchased my first Mac. It is a G4 533 DP and I am really liking it.

I am a musician and I want a decent set of speakers that produce good details in the playback, so I can transcribe guitar parts off cd's.

I am tempted to buy a set of Monsoon speakers and somewhat confused on the different models they offer. Remember I am a former PC user and my old PC didn't have USB ports, so all this is new to me.

The IM-700 looks like it is designed for Macs. I guess my confusion is with USB speakers in general.

1) What is the advantage of USB speakers?

2) Will any of the Monsoon speakers work with my Mac or only the IM-700 model?

3) What is the advantage of having the USB option?

4) Is the USB option only an extra cable/adapter that can be used with any of the Monsson speakers? If so, can the cord/adapter be purchased seperately and how much?

5) Do USB speakers plug into a USB port only or is there another cord needed to plug into the 1/8" mini plug sound out? If only the USB port is needed, does this bypass the internal soundcard?

Anything else that you might like to add to explain the differences is appreciated.

6) Any opinions on the sound quality of the Monsoon speakers?

TIA

[ 12-18-2001: Message edited by: macweiser ]</p>

Comments

• Reply 1 of 12
    gfeiergfeier Posts: 127member
    I've got the iM-700 on my dual 800 and I find the sound quality to be excellent. It was the only Monsoon system available a couple of months ago for the USB-only Quicksilvers. The only downside is that there is a loud POP from the speakers when you boot up. I've gotten used to it.
  • Reply 2 of 12
    [quote]1) What is the advantage of USB speakers?<hr></blockquote>Actually, I haven't heard that there really are any. USB speakers eat up bandwidth that could otherwise be used for other peripherals.