One dual, two single : a huge marketing error ?

Posted:
in General Discussion edited January 2014
Apple has great troubles to ship the dualies in time , at least in Europe (only less than 1% of the order of dualies where granted in France at this date).

The problem come from a bad marketing. One dualie for two single was a bad choice. The G5 is made for dualie, at least his mobo is done for that. For 300 bucks you have a nearly 80 % increase for MP applications, or at least a much better user experience in multitasking.

It's strange that the best quality prize/ratio is in the advantage of the dualie. In general the best quality prize/ratio is at the advantage of the low end or middle range model.

50 % of the G5 ordered are dual G5. It means that for 4 PPC 970 produced 3 must be the top model one the 2 ghz model. I am not an expert in fabbing or yields, but i never seen that the best yields are belonging to the faster speed.

The result of this choice is a lack of supply of PPC 970 at 2 ghz.

If Apple have offered a 1,8 ghz dual, they will have more chips avalaible for this model. Futhermore the majority of people would have choosen this model who will have shipped in time.

I Hope that they'll fix this issue in the next coming revision.

Comments

• Reply 1 of 4
    Interesting hypothesis, but I don't the yields of G5's [particularly at 2Ghz] were the problem.

Like any company, Apple has prefered customers. European consumers must not be on that list. Consider also that Virginia Tech bought 1100 Powermac G5's. That's a lot. I bet an order like that goes to the top of the list.
  • Reply 2 of 4
    amorphamorph Posts: 7,112member
    In the conference call Wednesday, Fred Anderson mentioned that Apple was still behind on orders, and that their margins on the PowerMac had taken a substantial hit because they had to air freight them all.