Agnostic Hardware??

Posted:
in Future Apple Hardware edited January 2014
We have all prayed, faithfully and even just occassionally to the various OSes of our own choosing. And like those faiths we have been devout and pure and have argued logically and passionately.

But is the future of computing, and our part in it, at

least let us say our chosen part to play in it at least

is not forced on us by default as the only choice.

Then perhaps the wave of the future... is hardware which

will run software that is just as compatible with windows as it is with mac or linux or unix or any of the other systems out there, or at least let us say, it is not

strictly propriatary.

So now I am a proud owner and operator of a hardware device that will sync with my mac at home, with my windows machine at work, with the unix machine my friend codes on, or the linux machine my open source activist friend enjoys so much.

In this way of course Apple can compete on an even basis with MS, and with Sony or Erickson or Phillips or Motorola or any of the other vendors out there. Because the playing ground will be equal for everybody. And customers can have whatever os or hardware they want, and it won't matter.

At least that is the ideal.

-Just some open source and open compatibility thoughts

to think about.

-MacintoshMan

Comments

• Reply 1 of 6
    Uummm, I'm not sure that is the eutopian scenario you actually want.

Some of the main lures to owning an Apple computer are that the OS is elegant and easy to use, the software that comes with it is fantastic and the machines themselves are fashionable yet functional.

Allowing someone to run Windows/Linux/Unix/whatever on an Apple branded machine (After all, without Mac OS, it's not really a Mac) is one thing. Allowing the Mac OS and all its software to run on an Intel/AMD/whatever machine will be of more detrement than good to Apple as a company.