Ram for new iMac

Posted:
in Current Mac Hardware edited January 2014
The Apple store offers several options for RAM on their website. We all know that the internal 168 pin is a 256 megabyte chip a 133mHz. One of the options for RAM on the website is for a 512 megabyte chip(one DIMM). My question is this. If you select this 512 megabyte RAM chip(one DIMM), is this 512 chip that I assume is going into the internal slot at 133mHz? I am a novice computer user and would appreciate input. Say you have 512 at 133mHz vs adding a 256 at 100mHz to the other slot, is the single 512 at 133mHz faster? If my thinking is correct, wouldn't it be worth it to pay the 200 bucks for the 512 at 133mHz to get better use of the 800 mHz G4? Rambling, rambling, rambling. Be nice to me, I'm new.

Terry

Comments

• Reply 1 of 6
    thegeldingthegelding Posts: 3,230member
    getting 512 internal is nice purely because you never have to worry about opening up your machine and up-dating or adding ram...you will already be at the maximum for internal ram....as for speed, i think they are using 133 because it is more common and actually cheaper than 100 now....as i understand it, and i may be wrong, the system bus is 100, so having ram at 133 won't make it any faster than having ram at 100....it won't harm it to have faster ram, but it won't help it either....i personally just went with the 256 internal from apple and ordered a 512 ram so-dimm to add on...so, how it breaks down:

at apple you can go to 512 internal for 200 bucks

or

keep 256 internal and add 512 so-dimm yourself for $215....

i opted for 768 ram total, hoping to have enough ram so i don't want to add any more till the computer is way out dated....g

probably can't go wrong either way...512 should keep you going for a long while before you want to add more ram.....
  • Reply 2 of 6
    ps. the ram i'm adding is PC133 so-dimm..