How To Register Software Once and Only Once?

Posted:
in Genius Bar edited January 2014
A dumb, but annoying issue with all the updates. In Panther, if I as an administrator, install a new program and register it with a S/N from the maker, it works fine when I am logged in.

Another user, not an administrator, logs in. Tries to use program. Gets asked for S/N. I have to go and enter the S/N again while logged in as that user.

Finally, since 10.3.2, some programs are no longer accepting the S/N.

2 questions:

1. Is there a way to register a program so that everyone can use it without the stupid serial number request for each user?

2. On programs that will no longer accept a serial number, I should just reinstall, right?

Any guidance appreciated.

Comments

• Reply 1 of 5
    ebbyebby Posts: 3,110member
    OK, I am a little new at OSX problem solving but I think if you move the preferences for the application from your "admin user"->libbrary->Somethingrather folder to your hard drive->library->Somethingrather it will store the preferences for every user.
  • Reply 2 of 5
    mcsjgsmcsjgs Posts: 244member
    Tried your suggestion, which was a good one. Unfortunately, it did not work. Copied working plist file and replaced the non-working one with it. No go.

I'll come back to my orginal question:

How is that other users have to register the programs themselves? Is this aberrant behavior on my machine? Happen to everyone?

Doesn't it seem sort of, well, stupid to have to do it this way?
  • Reply 3 of 5
    I finally got this starightened out.

The problem is a simple one. When the adminstrator installs a program, some developers use an install module that writes the information to the adminstrator's user library.

To compound the problem, some programs then phone home to their servers to record the registration. If you try to install to second user's library, the program does not allow it. Fear of bootlegging, I suppose.