Vinyl CD-R

Posted:
in General Discussion edited January 2014
I know virtually nothing about these, other than seeing them in a recent ad in the paper. How are they in price/performance comparison to a traditional 700MB CD-R? Are there any potential problems in using them with the slot-load combo drive in my PowerBook?

Comments

• Reply 1 of 15
    i puchased some of these and they just look like a the old records on top. worked fine for me too
  • Reply 2 of 15
    I've heard they are the best CD-Rs evar, but I have no personal experience. In threads here at AppleInsider seeking advice for the best CD-Rs, the vinyl ones have *always* won the greatest praise and recommendations.

They're hard to find and expensive, though.
  • Reply 3 of 15
    murbotmurbot Posts: 5,262member
    I just need to find myself one of those album making machines. You could have the vinyl on top and digital version underneath.

Off to the patent office!
  • Reply 4 of 15
    zozo Posts: 3,117member
    is this a hoax?
  • Reply 5 of 15
    kennethkenneth Posts: 832member
    I saw them before..
  • Reply 6 of 15
    wal-mart sells them.
  • Reply 7 of 15
    akumulatorakumulator Posts: 1,111member
    They're not actually vinyl are they? I thought they were just printed on top to look like old 45s
  • Reply 8 of 15
    everything's vinyl baby........

no actually you're right they are ordinary cd's with the label on top. it looks like a forty-five.

edit=it's not a label, it can't be peeled off, i meant label in the sense that it's meant to look like a record label.

i'll be back later to over-explain things further........
  • Reply 9 of 15
    eugeneeugene Posts: 8,254member
    They're good CD-Rs because they're Verbatim.

Verbatim is owned by Mitsubishi Chemical.

Mitsubishi Chemical CD-Rs are good.

They're also great for Disc T@2 because the writing side is very high contrast.
  • Reply 10 of 15