Dual 1.25 GHz problems..LONG! Sorry..

Posted:
in Genius Bar edited January 2014
Hi everyone. I've been a member here for some time now, and love this forum. It's helped me out many a time. Please forgive this lengthy post, but I need some advice. Hopefully one or two of you might get though this...

My issue is this (regarding a possible Apple lemon policy). I bought a Dual 1.25 G$ the week after the G5s were announced, for the simple reason that I work in Pro Tools and OS9 a lot - i'm a record producer - and understood that this new dual was possibly going to be the last and perhaps the most powerful of the Macs that would still dual boot. Of course I use OSX most of the time anyhow, but this dualbootability was the added bonus for me.

I maxed the thing out with 2gb Kingston RAM (well it came with 512mb Apple ram - the additional was kingston). Also, I added 4x120GB ATA drives. I needed this particular Mac for the 4 PCI slots - I use 3 for my Pro Tools HD, plus another for an ATTO dual320 SCSI card.

So, upon opening the box, I powered it up, and all was fine until I tried booting into OS9. Nothing. I might add that at this time, only the additional ram and one add'l HD was installed, all by ClubMac.

I called Apple about this, and they, as I expected, told me to remove anything that had been added, i.e. the RAM and the extra drive, and try restoring the OS9 side of things from my install CD package. So I did, but every time the installer crashed and failed. Again I called Apple, and they said they would send me out a replacement CD (CD 1 of 4 of the OS9 restore set).