PLEASE HELP iMac crashes

Posted:
in Genius Bar edited January 2014
I have the iMac flat Panel 875MHz 1GBram CD-rw MAC OS 9.2.2

The system used to crash repeatedly. From the Apple service they said it was due to many fonts installed (268 fonts). They removed some and I was left with 100. For a while, things were OK but 2-3 weeks later the crashes started again and they were BAD (every few minutes). They were not application-specific since, on many occasionsI did exactly the actions before it crashes. and didn;t crash at the same points. What could be the problem?

I believe it is a hardware problem, but because the machene is in guarantee period, they dont want to accept it. Nevertheless, I am not an expert MAC user. PLEASE HLP!!!

Comments

• Reply 1 of 12
    quite honestly you should try reinstalling the OS or upgrading to panther trust me, its worth it. but if you dont want to, i really dunno what to say, other than backing up everything and doing a clean isntall.
  • Reply 2 of 12
    The computer was delevered with a Restore CD.

Using panther is not possible (unless I miss something) because I use QuarkXpress 3.32. I heard from many grafics designers that there are problems running Quark under Classic

By the way, is it true that more than 128 fonts make 9.2.2 unstable? In the G4 I have (Dual 1.25, 1GBram, 120GbHd) It has the same programs, and same fonts but there is not a similar problem
  • Reply 3 of 12
    i honestly dont know very much about OS 9. i wasnt a mac user until after OS X came out, and i dont like OS 9 very much, so i dont use it. i hope someone else comes along that knows more.
  • Reply 4 of 12
    Quote:

Originally posted by morph

I have the iMac flat Panel 875MHz 1GBram CD-rw MAC OS 9.2.2

Question: why are you running OS 9.2.2 on such a cool machine \
  • Reply 5 of 12
    Quote:

Originally posted by Dale Sorel

Question: why are you running OS 9.2.2 on such a cool machine \