RAM questions, 4*512 or 2*1024?

Posted:
in Current Mac Hardware edited January 2014
Ok, first off, im not a mac user, but im planning on a switch when the g5 rev_B comes out! I´ve read some threads here and on other forums, and people always seem to have huge amout of ram. On windows-computers 512mb is more than enough, if you´re not into 3d-rendering and so on. Is OS X more hungry for RAM to run smooth compared to windows?

Second, should I get 4*512mb ram or 2*1024? are there any speed difference with those two setups? Im planning on a 2x2ghz g5, but we´ll se what´s up later on, with the release of the new g5.

/Copse

Comments

• Reply 1 of 13
    i'm not really an expert, but i believe windows and OS X are both ram hogs. yes, you should have lots of ram. technically i think 4 512's vs. 2 1GB should produce the same result, but i dunno--thats one of those things that almost sounds too good to be true (since the prices are so different). hopefully someone else who knows more can help you out more than this.
  • Reply 2 of 13
    the 2X1GB are probably very very slightly faster simply because there is one less ram location that has to be accessed in the rare event that the data needed for one program is found on two chips. The main issue here is later expandability, assuming they dont come out with 2GB chips any time soon (ie the cost doesnt come down to near earth orbit), you are not going to want to replace 4 512 MB chips with 4 1 GB chips when you do attempt to max out the ram in your computer and alas that is always something that should be done before the old boy is retired.
  • Reply 3 of 13
    I second BillyBobSky. If you can afford it, might as well go with 2 sticks. Here is a nice little write-up on RAM and timing/latency (aimed towards the overclocker market, but the info is still valid for Macs).

http://www.tomshardware.com/howto/20030701/index.html