Apple at all-time low market share

Comments

• Reply 21 of 100
    Quote:

Originally posted by satchmo

Will Apple be around in another 20 years? I hope so. And as long as they remain profitable, why wouldn't they?

To quote Steve Ballmer:

"Developers! Developers! Developers! Developers!"

All joking aside, that's a very key issue related to Apple's shrinking market share. The fewer people there are buying Apple computers, the fewer people there are buying software for Mac OS X, the fewer developers there are that can afford to make applications for Mac OS X.

Say I am a software development manager at XYZ Software Corp. I have a choice. I can invest $X and sell my program to 2 people or I can invest the same $X and sell it to 98 people. Which choice offers me the better return on investment? It's the simplest of economics.

Market share matters.

We can already see this happening in the case of software giants like Adobe. Adobe was once the poster child of a happy Mac-loving company. Where is it today? A quick skim over Adobe's product page shows us Adobe's level of dedication to Mac OS X. Acrobat Elements, Acrobat Elements Server, Acrobat Capture, Acrobat Distiller Server, Messenger, Document Server, Central Pro Output Server, Content Server, Photoshop Album, Graphics Server, Encore DVD, Audition, FrameMaker, FrameMaker Server, and Atmosphere are not available for Mac OS X. Let's also not forget the big scare a few months ago where a manual writer for Adobe "slammed" Apple and recommended using a faster Windows-based PC instead. It has been discussed many times how Adobe is shifting more towards Windows and how it wouldn't hurt so much to drop Mac support in the coming years.
  • Reply 22 of 100
    resres Posts: 711member
    One reason that Apples market share is still dropping is that the G5 has not made it to the whole line yet.