Need advice on 3D software

Posted:
in Mac Software edited January 2014
Folks, I know that some of you are graphics pros. Here's my question for you.

I need to create some infinite number of photo-realistic images of glass bottles and alluminium cans with labels for print. The labels are, of course, readily available in artwork.

1. By photo-realism I mean that images should not look like they were hacked up in CorelDraw in 10 minutes, not necessarily be indistinguishable from photos, but their quality (in terms of colour and lighting effects) should be good enough for print.

2. The software should be more or less easy to use for this task. I played with Infini-D and Bryce several years ago and found that they were much easier than 3DStudio, the UI of which I just could not dig. I am not an artist by any means, but I am very fluent with consistently-written software. You know what I mean.

3. It's desirable (though not required) that rendered images could be of a potentially large size/resolution, like A1 @ 300 dpi.

4. The software should be stable enough for everyday use.

5. The software should run on Mac OS X.

I don't think I will need anything more than cans and bottles, though these should look tasty.

Thanks in advance.

Comments

• Reply 1 of 8
    I think any true 3D pro will tell you the same: if you want photo-realism, it doesn't matter what tool you use. Cinema 4D, Maya, LightWave, Blender... they can all produce fantastic, convincing photo-realistic images and would all fit your criteria above (#2 being the only debatable one). The differences are mainly just in the UI and the extra little tools and features that speed up the modeling process.

That said, I'm personally a fan of Cinema 4D. It's rock-solid on my system. I don't think it's ever crashed before. I like the button-driven UI much better than the text-driven UI of LightWave. Maxon has a sample "photorealism" gallery that shows off its capabilities nicely.