Question about apartments/leases...help...

Posted:
in General Discussion edited January 2014
I recieved my new lease this week and with the increase in rent I knew I couldn't stay another year. Luckily, I was looking around for a new apartment and found a cheaper (and smaller) apartment pretty quick. I'll be moving in next week. The new place is right down the street...talk about lucky.

Well, I'm a noob as far as non-renewing a lease. They told me to just send a letter stating that I will not be renewing my lease. I'm kind of stumped as to how this letter of non-renewal should be written. If anyone here has done this before, could you give me a basic sense of what should be in this letter and how it should be worded? Much appreciated.

Damn, I'm going to miss my "Artshack". Been here for four years and have a lot of great memories. But the rent was (has been) out of my limit for too long and I needed a change. I'll be running around like crazy this next week packing, cleaning and unpacking...

thanks again...

Comments

• Reply 1 of 5
    tmptmp Posts: 601member
    I would think that you would just word it this way:

Quote:

This letter is to inform you that I (name) have chosen not to renew the lease at (address). I will be vacating the unit at the end of the lease term (date). <optional>My security deposit can be sent to (other address-I'd rent a PO box).

you may also include, if you paid last month's rent in advance:

Quote:

This notice of termination serves as in-lieu payment of last month rent

If you rented originally at $X amount and the last month's rent was $X+ $50, then include a check in the amount of $50 with the memo "Balance of last month's rent per lease agreement", and mention that in the letter.