17PB vs. 15PB

Posted:
in General Discussion edited January 2014
Hello.

I am about to buy a Powerbook next week just after the new Apple updates. I have tested both Powerbooks at the Apple Store.

Although my budget, desire, and need is drawn to the 17PB configuration, the HEAT I felt under my left palm while using the various 17PB displays seemed hot. At least, much more noticibly warm than the 15".

I will not be using the laptop as a desktop replacement. I already have a PowerMac. I want the ability to design on my back deck, on the hammock, on the front steps, and anywhere else I desire.

As a flash/video motion producer, I need as much destop real estate as possible. However, after test the 17PB, I am concerned about the heat.

Can you 17PB owners give me feedback about the heat from your laptop? Also, please specify if you use it on a desk or on your lap, as I will not be using mine on a desk a majority of the time.

Many thanks!!

Arondale

Comments

• Reply 1 of 10
    cosmonutcosmonut Posts: 4,872member
    You haven't used a 15" on your lap then, have you? It gets pretty warm as well...especially when doing a log of processor-intensive stuff. If you want more screen real estate, get the 17". Both are probably going to be about as hot as the other.
  • Reply 2 of 10
    billybobskybillybobsky Posts: 1,914member
    if you can't handle the heat don't put the lap top on your lap...

17 in gets hot. Worries me. I put it aside. Cools down in no time.

The cost between the two models wasn't that different for me when i bought the 17 in...
  • Reply 3 of 10
    Actually, I used a TiBook for several months. It got hot, however, I think the motherboard is very different. I think the processor and/or hard drive is in a different location on the 17. From what I tell, one hand resting in front of the keyboard is hotter than the other... to a very noticable degree. This is not the case on the 15".