installed more RAM and now I can't launch an app

Posted:
in Genius Bar edited January 2014
I just installed an additional 512MD of RAM (DDR 333) in my G4 Tower, for a total of 1 GB.

I am a music producer (Total Kaos Records - a Freestyle dance music label) and I run Propellerhead's Reason 2.5

Reason was running just fine before I added the addition RAM. Now when I try to launch the appication I get this error: "Can not register program Since you do not have full access rights to this computer, the program can't be registered. Please contact your system administrator."

I have tried repairing permissions and that didn't work. I have also tried to change the settings in the "Get Info" screen which didn't work either.

Any ideas?

Comments

• Reply 1 of 6
    chychchych Posts: 860member
    Does taking out the RAM cause Reason to work again?
  • Reply 2 of 6
    Also is the memory showing up is system profiler? And is the original stick of ram the original one from apple? Most of the G4 Towers use 266 or 233 (one of those) Although a 333 will work fine there have been reported problems when using a 333 next to the original apple one.The solution is too replace the original.
  • Reply 3 of 6
    rhoqrhoq Posts: 190member
    Quote:

Originally posted by chych

Does taking out the RAM cause Reason to work again?

No. When I first launched Reason without the additional memory, I was prompted to insert one of Reason's installer discs (Orkester Disc). Once I did that, I received the same message as before and continued to get that error when I would attempt to relaunch the application.

Quote:

Originally posted by cybermonkey

Also is the memory showing up is system profiler? And is the original stick of ram the original one from apple? Most of the G4 Towers use 266 or 233 (one of those) Although a 333 will work fine there have been reported problems when using a 333 next to the original apple one.The solution is too replace the original.