About to "switch" and in need of advice

Posted:
in Current Mac Hardware edited January 2014
Hello all,

A Intel-platform windows/linux user about to shift to Apple's amazing products. As I am a bit less literate wrt this platform, I hope you all can help me.

Given:

Probable purchase G5 2x2gHz, ATI 9800

a) What hardware can one purchase to get a video-in/tv-in? I don't think the mac version of ATI's card has such an input. I prefer factory-assembled hardware, but am willing to go where I must.

b) 2 GB/4 GB/8 GB

It used to be a mantra that the PC platform needed more HD space, the Mac more RAM. The $500/GB price of G5 RAM seems high. Does the Mac still use ECC RAM? How much RAM do you all actually end up having committed? How good is the disk-caching system? I noticed references to hard RAM disks... is this a good practice (I am new to the BSD disk cache algorithms)? I was under the impression that it is sub-optimal, given the OS can usually do a pretty decent job of caching whatever files you are likely to hit...

c) Are people still having problems with the Logitech MX 900 mouse? did 10.3.3 fix for those problems/are they on the radar for 10.3.4?

d) On the off chance that anyone has a Fuji S7000 digital camera, does one still need to use a ridiculous "viewer" to access the images directly fromt the camera? Any suggestion s for a good CF/SM/xD/etc card reader?

thanks

-RS

Comments

• Reply 1 of 12
    timotimo Posts: 353member
    a) dunno

b) I think your characterization is apt. Also, I also understand RAM disks to be sub-par. As for an amount, I'd start with the 2 gig and see if it isn't adequate for your work

c) no problems with the Logitech, though mine is the one before BT version

d) I've found iphoto works great for getting images off my camera. There are plenty of unremarkable and cheap CF readers around

FWIW
  • Reply 2 of 12
    flounderflounder Posts: 2,674member
    Quote:

Originally posted by quidire

Hello all,