Palm banner ad: WARNING!

Posted:
in Feedback edited January 2014
Just checked Internet Explorer's 'temp files' folder to grab a nice piece of Flash animation from a site.

What do I find?

Just under 3000 (4kb) gif files taking up 11.5MB of my hard disc. All called from the "PalmOne" banner ad on Appleinsider's forum page. I had left a page open in the background for a couple of hours.

I just watched, bemused, as the folder grew......24 files a second!

I am no expert in the most recent versions of Flash, but this can't be right....can it?

If I hadn't noticed before going to bed I reckon There would be nearly 15000 files by the morning, taking up over 50 MB of space!

Can someone at Appleinsider have a word with the advertisers?

Comments

• Reply 1 of 12
    murbotmurbot Posts: 5,262member
    Quote:

Originally posted by piot

Can someone at Appleinsider have a word with the advertisers?

Thread of the year, dude.

I'd explain it better, but I'm busy cleaning a rye and coke off my goddamn display. It was worth it though. Nothing like a good laugh to clean out the sinuses.

• Reply 2 of 12
    piotpiot Posts: 1,346member
    Naturally I am pleased that you are all amused!

However could anyone at least explain to me if this is the correct behaviour for a Flash file?

ie. The file loads a couple of gif images every few seconds or so....and then repeats the process over and over. However these image files end up with sequentially generated unique file names, so you end up with an ever expanding temp files folder.

Anybody got a REAL answer?

Piot
  • Reply 3 of 12
    alcimedesalcimedes Posts: 5,486member
    send an e-mail off to [email protected]

he's the only one who can fix them.
  • Reply 4 of 12
    Quote:

Originally posted by alcimedes

send an e-mail off to [email protected]

he's the only one who can fix them.

Thank you!
  • Reply 5 of 12
    paulpaul Posts: 5,278member
    off too who?
  • Reply 6 of 12
    alcimedesalcimedes Posts: 5,486member