Quicktime registration?

Posted:
in Mac Software edited January 2014
I'm new to Apples and I just got my new 15" AlBook the other day. Being used to the ways of windows one of the first things I did was run the software updater. It asked me for my Quicktime registration info and for some reason I really expected the machine to come with a full copy of Quicktime.

Did I do something wrong or do I just have unrealistic expectations?

Comments

• Reply 1 of 8
    ionyzionyz Posts: 491member
    All new Apple computers come with the free QuickTime Player. There is also QuickTime Pro which unlocks features in Player. If you haven't paid for Pro just skip the dialog.

Consider going Pro if your into any content creation.
  • Reply 2 of 8
    mr. memr. me Posts: 3,221member
    Quote:

Originally posted by bfoz

I'm new to Apples and I just got my new 15" AlBook the other day. Being used to the ways of windows one of the first things I did was run the software updater. It asked me for my Quicktime registration info and for some reason I really expected the machine to come with a full copy of Quicktime.

Did I do something wrong or do I just have unrealistic expectations?

Quicktime is an integral part of MacOS X. You have a full copy of Quicktime if you have MacOS X. Registering Quicktime Pro releases extra functionality in the Quicktime Player. Without registration, the Quicktime Player will use every installed codec and play every file that Quicktime Pro can play. Quicktime Pro will allow you to perform simple edits or even to create movies and slide shows. QT Pro will also allow you to play certain content fullscreen.
  • Reply 3 of 8
    vox barbaravox barbara Posts: 2,021member
    The distinction between Pro and the crippled one is blatantly embarrassing, isn't it? It is one of these things i hate very much.
  • Reply 4 of 8
    kickahakickaha Posts: 8,760member
    Then pay for the added functionality.

Pro is for editing and saving.