HELP! I' m DESPERATE and in a pinch!

Posted:
in Genius Bar edited January 2014
First of all... great board... I think this place is exactly what I need...

Ok.. I am a mac USER (how proficient...well I dunno.. but I manage) ... Not expert... i simply know what i need to do and can accomplish it on my mac.

I'm a independant filmmaker. I run a Youth Summer Film Project. We use Final Cut Pro 3 on my Mac G4 433 A/V machine. Things were going great, Mac running well, etc. until Monday. On Monday I went to turn the mac on (I usually leave all of the computers running, but we were away at a festival so I shut them all down.. but I digress) and nothing happened. Nada. So I try to figure out what is going on. I call the closest Mac shop (50 mintues away) and they ask a bunch of questions, have me do a few things... still nothing. So they tell me that in all likelyhood my hard drive has failed. (Good thing I back up my important files every Friday.) So I have this hard drive that I'd just purchased to place in an external box for storage of the Youth Summer Film Project's kids stuff. So I ask if I can just install this in the Mac. They told me yes, that its relatively simple to do. I think he lied...

So I switch the hard drives... but am unsure as to where to go from here. I have bootable OS 9.1 and bootable OSX (10.2.4). I know that in order for my A/V in/outputs to work correctly, I need to have OS 9. My former hard drive was partitioned.

Today, frustrated because I cannot get it to work, I call the Mac guy. He says he will be happy to do it for me, but he can't possibly get to it before next Friday. I simply can't wait that long, and he was unwilling to walk me through it on the phone (I understand... he doesn't wanna give free advice when he can charge me $99 for the first hour and $69 for each remaining hour). So here I sit... with a big ole paperweight on my desk... needing it by Wednesday so I don't have to cancel a week of the kids project.