New to Mac...how to install software

Posted:
in Genius Bar edited January 2014
hello,

im new to the mac and im not sure how to install certain software i was given. i heard there are several ways to isntall software on a mac depending on what kinda of file extension the program icon has.

for example i have the following extensions ".sit" and ".dmg"

if there are any other methods or extensions i should know about please let me know.

thanks,

Danny

Comments

• Reply 1 of 7
    cakecake Posts: 1,010member
    Just double click on it.

With .sit, Stuffit Expander will open and decompress it. With a .dmg (which means Disk Image) it'll open a icon on your desktop that you will need to double click on to install.

Usually with disk images, you can just drag the application to your applications folder to use it.
  • Reply 2 of 7
    johnqjohnq Posts: 2,763member
    Quote:

Originally posted by Cake

Just double click on it.

With .sit, Stuffit Expander will open and decompress it. With a .dmg (which means Disk Image) it'll open a icon on your desktop that you will need to double click on to install.

More descriptive than the above but not actually any more complicated:

.dmg:

- Double click file icon

(it gets busy)

- Usually a white disk icon will show up on your desktop (that is a virtual disk ... the files you want are on it). And usually a window will automatically open up showing you the files you want, often in big icons with some descriptive text as to what to do next.

- Depending on the situation, you will either just drag the application's icon to the desktop or anyplace you want to keep it. Otherwise you will double click an installer and follow the prompts.

- When done, close the window. You will then want to "unmount" the new icon that is on the desktop (should be a white icon with the same name as your .dmg file). This can be dragged to the trash icon to "eject"/"unmount" it (virtually).