I am a soccer coach!

Posted:
in General Discussion edited January 2014
I get a call two days ago. Mr. Trumptman, we need to ask if you wouldn't mind coaching soccer because we are short on coaches. If we don't get two more coaches, we will have to disband two teams. (Including conveniently enough, the one my son happens to have signed up to play on)

"I've never played organized soccer."

That's okay.

"I'm not entirely sure on the rules."

That's okay.

"I post on Appleinsider."

Mmmmmmmmmmmm... (background muttering and swearing) That's going to have to be okay.

So now after a four hour, hands on session with two Brits attempting to show me and several other adults all there is to know about soccer, I am a soccer coach to a team of five, five year old children.

Life is indeed a curious thing.

They play three on three with no goalie. It is (hopefully) more about fun and games. AYSO seems very well organized and any tips or experiences you care to share will be greatly appreciated.

Nick

Comments

• Reply 1 of 13
    brussellbrussell Posts: 9,812member
    Pack some heat just in case the parents get out of line.
  • Reply 2 of 13
    3 on 3 with no goalie? Very odd. I guess I didn't play in kindergarten but I'm sure that I was playing by second grade and it was always the usual soccer format.

As long as you remember to bring the orange slices to snack on during breaks you will be considered competent. Of course, you have to buy pizza for everyone after the last game of the season.