Graphics on Powerbook

Posted:
in Current Mac Hardware edited January 2014
I am working on my degree and I need to run Adobe CS, all of the applications that comes with that. I currently have a toshiba laptop and love it. Due to graphics, I am going to have to get an apple. I swore to myself that I will never own another desktop again after having a laptop. I was looking at the Powerbook with the 12 inch screen, due to price and easy to carry. I was wondering if any of you people out there have run some of these applications on the Powerbook and if so, are they stock or more ram? I am very very familar with the PC world but I am new to the mac world. FILL ME IN!!!!

Comments

• Reply 1 of 8
    I do all of my graphics work on a 15" Tibook (1ghz G4) and it handles things fantastically. In fact, I have a somewhat faster desktop at work, but prefer my setup connected to a 21" external monitor for the ease of use and the extra desktop space. I would use the desktop if it did have two screens and the tools I needed though.

I'd say 1gb of ram will do you well and if a graphics card with at least 64mb of vram is in your setup, you should do fine. Keep an extra slot open if you want to add more ram later. External FW drives are also a nice way to get extra storage and a faster throughput (helps things like video).

I do both print and interactive/motion graphics work, so I usually put the system through the more demanding apps that are available. I would like to add a desktop ( if I do more video work, etc.) and leave this system as my portable solution some time in the future. I'll be waiting dual-core G5s and PCI-e before I make that jump.
  • Reply 2 of 8
    I am a designer & use a powerbook all the time for onsite freelancing.

I used to use a 15" TiBook 667. I had the Ram maxed out to 1 gig. It worked OK.

I just upgraded to a 17" 1.5 gig powerbook with a gig of ram as well. That is awesome! I left one ram slot free so I can upgrade in the future when I need it.