Newbie Questions! - Video codecs, iBooks...

Posted:
in Mac Software edited January 2014
Hello all, newbie alert, help would be appreciated.

I haven't been a Mac owner for a long time now, not since the dark days of System 7. I switched to PC then, but now am thinking of getting a laptop for when I'm on the road. Seems like a good chance to get back into Macintosh.

I'd be using it for a few things - watching movies, playing emu games, browsing the net/email, and the usual iTunes/digital photo stuff.

Questions..!

1 - I know DIVX is available for the Mac, but I'd also need xVid, and OGM. Have these been ported to OS X?

2 - How would emus run on an iBook? MAME, SNES etc. I wouldn't expect to run the latest MAME games, they don't even work properly on my 3Ghz P4, just the 80s and 90s stuff.

3 - iBook online with a cell phone. How? (total newbie on this front). Bluetooth, 3G phone...? No idea, sorry.

I have a feeling I may end up getting hooked and end up with a desktop Mac too, but one step at a time! Also, is the Powerbook worth the extra cash? Seems a lot more for not a lot more, if you get my meening.

Thanks much.

Comments

• Reply 1 of 7
    chuckerchucker Posts: 5,089member
    XviD is available. OGM is not a codec, but a container format, so I'm not sure what particular codec you're referring to there.

With a Bluetooth phone listed in the iSync supported devices list, connecting to the internet should work fine. Doesn't have to be 3G.

The PowerBook has better caches, better display quality, a softer keyboard, etc., so the added price tag is not a rip-off.
  • Reply 2 of 7
    kotatsukotatsu Posts: 1,010member
    Thanks for the reply.

Sorry, got confused with OGM, codecs aren't really something I know a great deal about. Looking at an OGM movie it looks like it's using ffdShow MPEG-4 and Matrix Mixer.

Do you know where I can find these, and xVid for the Mac?