Student nonlinear video lab configuration question

Posted:
in General Discussion edited January 2014
I work at our university?s TV station and we currently have on order two dual 2.5GHz G5?s with 4GB of ram and will be using Final Cut HD and Boris Continuum Complete. Can?t wait for them to arrive?I have been using a Nubus Media 100 since 1995?

It appears that one of the professors copied my specs and submitted them for a student nonlinear lab. He also included the broadcast hardware we needed for input/output of analog video. His total for the request is over $37,000.00. Because of the cost he has only requested one computer! I would like to help them out by suggesting a different configuration. I have a good handle on how to cut costs (about $20,000) by substituting and eliminating much of the extra hardware.

I need a bit of help on the G5 end. If any of you out there are involved in a lab (or just have an opinion) could you please let me know what you are using or what you would recommend?

I am going to suggest that academics lower the horsepower in order to get more stations for the students. I like the following configuration:

1.8GHz PowerPC G5

1GB DDR400 SDRAM - 2 DIMMs

80GB Serial ATA drive

17-inch widescreen LCD

NVIDIA GeForce FX 5200 Ultra w/64MB video memory

Final Cut Express 2 preinstalled

Keyboard and Mouse + Mac OS X - U.S. English

SuperDrive (DVD-R/CD-RW)

3 year Apple Care Protection Plan

Cost $1,720.00 per computer

This system saves money by getting the 17? monitor but yet it has the higher processor and has been bumped to 1GB of ram. Is this overkill or do we need more? The students who will initially use these systems will probably only be required to create 2 to 10 minute video segments with very little layering or graphics. Considering that the current graphics lab is mostly old G3?s these G5?s will probably need to last at least 5 years.