iMovie/iDVD PAL-NTSC Madness -- Help?

Posted:
in Genius Bar edited January 2014
Hey all,

My family's early video archives (ca. '91 onwards) are in analog PAL format on 8 Millimeter tapes and they're starting to degrade in quality (some of them already have, unfortunately ). We're trying to archive them to DVD before they're all gone.

(This doesn't reflect very well on modern media's data retention. *sigh* )

Anyways, I of course decided to use my new PowerBook G4 for this noble project! The machine is the latest and greatest (15" with 1.5 Ghz, 512 MB RAM) and handles video stuff well. The problem is with iMovie, which I have never used before (and yes, I looked through the manual and help files).

Since we're from Europe, all our videos are in analog PAL on 8mm tapes.

Here's the deal: When I try to import from an 8mm PAL tape in a DV Camcorder (that also speaks PAL and analog since it's multifunction) via FireWire in iMovie, the machine imports about 9 minutes / 1.9 GB of video, and then stops. It doesn't continue importing but always stops ater 9 minutes (this is reproducible). Also, during import processor usage is at 100%, there is no sound pass-through from the video to the PowerBook's speakers, and iMovie says "Record from camcorder...", not "Import...", on the import button.

When I try to import video from an 8mm tape that has digital content on it (in other words, content from an 8mm analog PAL tape that we transcoded onto another 8mm tape in digital format), the import works all the way until the end of the tape (in other words, hours can pass by and it continues importing and doesn't stop), processor usage is at around 25%-33%, and there is audio passthrough to the PowerBook's speakers.

I don't understand why this is happening. I'm saving all the video on a fast external 160GB FireWire drive, so that's not an issue. The problem seems to be between importing analog and digital content from a DV camcorder.