New to forum - G5 Questions

Posted:
in General Discussion edited January 2014
Looking for some advice....

A little background. I work as a freelance graphic designer in the Toronto area. I concentrate on print materials and usually work in Quark, Illustrator and a little Photoshop (simple close crops/feathers). I currently get by on a 9600/350 with 256mb ram running OS 9.1.

Time to get into the real digital age. I have just purchased a nifty digital camera (Canon SD300) and have picked up a 40gb iPod.

My question - can I get by with a G6 iMac 20"? I would bump ram to 2 gb and was wondering if....

1. Will I notice a increase in speed/power?

2. Will I need to get into a G5 tower with dual processors (very expensive when considering a new monitor/software/peripheals)?

3. Any reason to wait for something new (any new products in the rumour mill)?

Any insight would be appreciated. Thanks - HBK

Comments

• Reply 1 of 7
    bergzbergz Posts: 1,045member
    Quote:

Originally posted by hoganboykee

My question - can I get by with a G6 iMac 20

Can 128-bit processors run 32-bit software?

--B
  • Reply 2 of 7
    Welcome to AppleInsider!

Coming from a 9600, the G5 iMac will definitely show much more speed/power. Especially when you throw 2GB of RAM into it.

Not everyone *needs* a dual CPU system. You get what you paid for, but on the higher end, you pay exponentially more for what might be a linear increase in performance, if you get what I mean.

Some advice:

- Don't get the 17 inch iMac. The LCD on that is shockingly terrible with regards to color shifts as the viewing angle changes. The 20 inch uses the same technology as the standalone displays, so it is pretty darn good.

- No new macs run OS9 anymore. So you might need to upgrade your software, which adds up to the cost of the new set up. So, I can understand if you want to save a little on the hard ware.

Good luck shopping!
  • Reply 3 of 7
    Thanks for your response.