Min OS X requirements (in terms of $)

Posted:
in Current Mac Hardware edited January 2014
I'm in the market for a new computer. I dont have alot of cash, because I really want to go all out with the next major proccessor revitioin sometime in 2003 (hopefully) I currently own a PM 8500, upgraded to 300mhz g3, surprisingly it's lasted me a long time 5 years or so. I just want alittle more power for the next year, and something that'll run os X somewhat smoothly. It's just hard finding the machine I want. I'm pretty sure I want a tower. A B&W will run X, but does anyone do this on a daily basis? does it require 512meg of ram to run well? I'm might be able to buy a Yikes g4 from someone real cheap, but how cheap? $400? that'd be hot but I dont see it happening. But if I'm going to get a G4, why not get one with agp throw a 32meg card in there and use QE to make X alittle more responsive.

So what I'm looking for is suggestions to purchase. I'm a graphic designer by day, mostly internet user at home, though do some photoshop stuff, amature photography, etc.

Also where do I got about buying a good used machine, does apple refurbish older machines at all? or just newish? the dual 867 at $1499 refurb was pretty tempting, but about double what i want to spend. i dont mind buying a machine with minimum ram HD, actually would perfer it. Also if you have stories abotu buying used machines please feel free, I'm on my second first was a Centris 660av, now the 8500 (okay refurb, but used)

- thanks guys

Valis

Comments

• Reply 1 of 9
    Well, if you're going to get a used or refurb'd G4 tower, I'd go with one that has the 4X AGP graphics capabilities. Then you would be able to swap out the card for the Quartz Extreme in OS X. Where to go though? Small Dog Electronics, perhaps?
  • Reply 2 of 9
  • Reply 4 of 9
    lucaluca Posts: 3,833member