need advice re iBook screen size

Posted:
in Current Mac Hardware edited January 2014
I'm considering the purchase of an iBook, but can't decide whether I should buy the 12.1 inch or 14.1 inch screen. I'm a writer and photographer and will want to edit digital video using iMovie. Any advice would be helpful.

Thank you!

Comments

• Reply 1 of 15
    chychchych Posts: 860member
    Both have same resolution and for portability (and price) I'd take the 12.1" screen.
  • Reply 2 of 15
    progmacprogmac Posts: 1,850member
    you might consider doing a search for threads on this topic, if the search database works (i always have problems with it, then again havnen't tried it in like a million years)

here is a conversation between 2 people about it:

Person A: "they have the same resolution, so why bother with the 14?"

Person B: "but the screen is so small. the text is hard to read."

Person A: "you must have bad eyes. the 14" is unnecessarily big and defeats the purpose of a portable in the first place"

Person B: "i just like to see what i'm working on. go for the 14" i did and don't regret it"

Person A: "I have the 12" and love it."

Person B: "Blah blah blah blah"

Person A: "Blah blah blah blah"
  • Reply 3 of 15
    emaneman Posts: 7,204member
    go for the 12".
  • Reply 4 of 15
    applenutapplenut Posts: 5,768member
    go to a store... use both.... buy the one you like better
  • Reply 5 of 15
    Buy the 12", add the spanning hack and use the money you save to buy a 19" CRT for your external 1600 x 1200 screen. BTW you can very easily adjust the font size of everything including desktop fonts etc. So reading things on the 12" can be just as easy as on the 14". Plus the 12" is sharper and higher definition because the same number of pixels are closer together. The 14" is too big.
  • Reply 6 of 15
    [quote] and will want to edit digital video using iMovie <hr></blockquote>