First-ever Mac for a Switcher...

Posted:
in Current Mac Hardware edited January 2014
Hi all

This is my first-ever post and I'm totally new to the Apple world, so be gentle with me!

I'm currently using a Wintel box (booo!) but I've always admired the Mac range for years and wanted one when I bought my first computer and the original iMacs were around. Sadly my budget was limited and with the cheapest iMac at £915 British pounds, it was beyond my price range - I got a decent PC for £550 and the rest is history - it's been PCs ever since.

Now all that's changed though - my budget is better and the Mac range is much more affordable. And my 3-year-old PC is getting slower and noisier as the fans get rattly, and I'm getting very very tired of how clunky and annoying Windows XP is getting - I get security alerts, spyware, constant massive file downloads just to fix the latest security holes - you get the picture.

So with moving to my first-ever home of my own, a little studio flat, I'm not taking this rattling heap with me - it's time for a new computer and I'd decided for sure - I'm making the switch!

Now although my budget is quite healthy now, my PC experience has also taught me how little I need a really powerful machine - I word process, surf the web, listen to music via my computer at that's it. I've never even used the CD-burner on my PC so my needs are pretty basic. So I don't want to go crazy. I also don't want to buy anything too big, another reason why the current all-in-one Macs appeal so much.

I don't need power so all PowerMacs are out, and I don't want a laptop - despite the space-saving I just can't get on with laptop keyboards and touchpads.

So it's an eMac, an iMac or the new Mac Mini.

What I need help with is which to choose. My main issue is NOISE - since I leave my computer on most of the time and I'll be in basically a one-room flat, I need as quiet a machine as possible.