Which mac to buy?

Posted:
in Current Mac Hardware edited January 2014
Hi,

My old windows/linux laptop has done it's bit and is due for replacement.

I have no experience with macs, so I would need some help.

I am drawn to the 12" ibook because of it's price and size.

Can anyone advise me of what to buy (like extra RAM, HD) or should i go for a powerbook anyway?

Secondly is it worth waiting for Tiger to arrive or will there be a cheap upgrade option with new macs?

Thanks in advance,

Peter

Comments

• Reply 1 of 3
    First question: what do you want to/need to do with your computer?

If it is fairly "normal" stuff (writing/emailing, web, "general" iLife stuff), then I think the iBook might be a good choice (excellent price/performance ratio). The 12" is IMHO excellently sized, too.

I bought an iBook 12" last May, and the things I went for were:

- additional RAM, but NOT from Apple (too expensive). I bought 512 MB from Crucial, all fine.

- the built-in Bluetooth module (this needs to be done by Apple at putting the machine together - can't have it fitted afterwards). I use my Bluetooth-equipped mobile phone with the iBook, plus I might get a Bluetooth-equipped mouse (NOT the Apple one, because I WANT 2 buttons) soon.

- at that time, AirPort was an extra (I got it), now it's included

- I went for the 40 MB hard drive (was an $25 extra). Today, I think the size is "just about"... Maybe I should have gone for the 60 MB...

At that time, I didn't go for the PowerBook 12", mainly because of the price tag (although my iBook was "beefed up", it was still something like $300 cheaper than the PowerBook).

For you to consider is whether the extra money for the PowerBook 12" is worth the extra features. Personally, I think the overall price/performance ratio for the iBook 12" is still better than for the PowerBook 12" (despite yesterday's updates) IF you need a laptop for "general use".