Help a newbie filmmaker make the switch & build a mac

Posted:
in General Discussion edited January 2014
Hey I'm a first time poster looking to make the switch from windows to mac. I'm a canadian university student that is getting into filmmaking and I would like to make the switch to final cut pro because I was trained on it in the summer. I travel a lot so I need something that is both powerful and portable. I see a lot ppl here wish for powerbook g5s but I doubt this will be cost effective for a student, let alone the fact that it won't be out for a while and I'd like something more immediate. I don't know how well recieved the new powerbooks are or good they are with final cut pro but on the apple store I built:

? 1GB DDR333 SDRAM - 2x512 SO-DIMMs

? 100GB Ultra ATA drive @ 5400 rpm

? 8x SuperDrive (DVD±RW/CD-RW)

? 1.67GHz PowerPC G4 w/128MB VRAM dual

? AirPort Extreme Card

? Backlit Keyboard/Mac OS - U.S. English

? ATI Mobility Radeon 9700

? 15.2-inch TFT Display

This costs 3,122.00 CAD, which is 2,521.68 USD. Is this worth it and good enough to run Final Cut Pro effectively without needing a desktop computer?

Thanks in advance

Comments

• Reply 1 of 7
    ebbyebby Posts: 3,110member
    Things in bold I would change:

? 512MB DDR333 SDRAM - 1x512 SO-DIMM - You only have 2 ram slots. This way you can upgrade with cheaper ram when you need it.

? 80GB Ultra ATA drive @ 5400 rpm - I wouldn't edit video on the internal drive. Save the extra money to get a big external drive.

? AirPort Extreme Card

? 15.2-inch TFT Display
  • Reply 2 of 7
    brussellbrussell Posts: 9,812member