Do I need the 128mb Video??

Posted:
in General Discussion edited January 2014
Hey all,

Newbie here. I am going to purchase a 15" Powerbook and was wondering how much of a difference the 128mb Video card would make? And what about going to the Gig of RAM. I seem to always try to go big on my Windows machines cause of Windows but I want to get into the MAC world to expand my knowledge and the growing demand in the business world with MACs. So I want to build a machine that suits me. I have it narrowed to the Powerbook 15". I am planning on keeping the unit for a few years. So any help would be great.

Thanks

Comments

• Reply 1 of 12
    amorphamorph Posts: 7,112member
    Welcome to AppleInsider!

The 128MB video card will mostly be useful if you're doing fairly heavy graphics or video work, spanning the PB's desktop across a 23" Cinema Display, and/or playing DOOM 4. Otherwise, the 64MB GPU will do the trick nicely.

It's pretty easy to upgrade RAM in the PBs (just unscrew a little door in the bottom, pop it in, put the door back on), so feel free to not pay Apple's rather steep prices for upgrading RAM and buy and install your own. 512MB should be fine for general use. Again, the more heavily you use the machine, the more RAM you'll want. Since it's easy to upgrade RAM, and since you'll have two slots to play with, you can always upgrade later as you need to.

You'll love the PB. My brother has a 15", and I envy the lucky little bastard. They're sweet machines.
  • Reply 2 of 12
    scottscott Posts: 7,431member
    12" is better. More what a laptop should be
  • Reply 3 of 12
    xoolxool Posts: 2,460member
    Personally, I'd upgrade the VRam since its not something you can upgrade later. It may be overkill now, but I'd say its a worthwhile future-proofing investment.

Considering where the OS is headed with Tiger and how much apps will start leveraging the GPU, extra VRam is probably a sound investment.