Time to take the powerbook plunge?

Posted:
in Current Mac Hardware edited January 2014
Hi all,

I'm a mac newbie, but have worked with them in the past, and keen to get involved. Looks likely that I will moving into radio production in the coming months, so I think they will be useful for that.

Anyway, my question is this: do the new powerbooks tell me to go for it now... or should I hold out for the G5 PB's?

I will need to get one pretty soon, so how long will I have to wake before getting the G5?

Also... I'm from the UK. Don't know if that will make a difference.

Both my younger and elder brother have power books, and for the past year I've looked on with envy... will this give me the much needed extra kudos needed as a late joiner? I want some middle child respect darn it!!!

Thanks, look forward to your colourful replies.

fos

Comments

• Reply 1 of 8
    Quote:

Originally posted by fosman

Hi all,

I'm a mac newbie, but have worked with them in the past, and keen to get involved. Looks likely that I will moving into radio production in the coming months, so I think they will be useful for that.

Anyway, my question is this: do the new powerbooks tell me to go for it now... or should I hold out for the G5 PB's?

I will need to get one pretty soon, so how long will I have to wake before getting the G5?

Both my younger and elder brother have power books, and for the past year I've looked on with envy... will this give me the much needed extra kudos needed as a late joiner? I want some middle child respect darn it!!!

fos

Well the PB G5 isn't on the immediate horizon - 6months to a year away, possibly even longer. The powerbooks have just been updated and are excellent machines - the g4 offers a very good performance/batterylife/form factor compromise. If your interested in agetting a mac, I'm sure you wouldn't be disapointed. Being in the UK should make only about a week or two of difference in the time it taskes to get a newly released machine.